- About Us
- Events & Education
- For The Public
|FAQs for Veterinarians Practicing in New Jersey|
FAQs for Veterinarians Practicing in New Jersey
If a pet is deceased, you must retain the records for 3 years following the death of the animal. Otherwise you must keep the records for 5 years. This means all medical records including radiographs. If using electronic medical records (EMR), we strongly recommend investing in a secure back-up system to protect against computer hard drive crash.
Yes, clients are entitled to copies of their pet’s medical records. It is recommended that the client mail, fax or hand deliver a written request for records. You should have these records available to the client within ten business days and have the right to charge a nominal fee. The fee would cover the cost of printing & administrative costs for time that it takes to have the copies made. DO NOT give clients original medical records.
Yes, you should note any prescription in the patient’s medical record and maintain a system for tracking all prescriptions by keeping a log, copies or scanning and uploading the prescription into the EMR. These records should be kept for five years, or three if the patient is deceased.
To apply for a veterinary license or obtain a copy of an existing license, please contact the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners at 973-504-6500.
Please contact the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners at 973-504-6500. They will be able to send a letter to the state board where you are now applying for a license.
Veterinarians are not permitted to vaccinate their staff because it is considered to be the practice of human medicine. The best places to check are with your local health department, as they may have a program to vaccinate Humane Law Enforcement Officers (HLEOs) or shelter workers. You can also contact Passport Health, 800-741-0504, a private company that will come to the clinic and vaccinate staff. It is recommended that you check with your health insurance carrier regarding what is covered.
For more information on the disposal of controlled drugs, please contact the U.S. Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, Destruction of Controlled Substances page, or contact the DEA Call Center 800-882-9539.
The NJVMA was successful in exempting veterinarians from obtaining a National Provider Identifier, veterinarians are not required to obtain a NPI, which is a unique identification number for certain health care providers. Not having an NPI number does not bar veterinarians from having prescriptions filled at pharmacies.
Yes, the NJVMA occasionally receives requests from schools throughout the state to have a licensed veterinarian visit the school and speak to students about careers in veterinary medicine. If you are a licensed veterinarian in New Jersey and a member of the NJVMA, you may choose to be added as a potential speaker when requests come in by e-mailing your interest to firstname.lastname@example.org.
You can make a donation by check or credit card for any amount. The NJVF awards education grants to New Jersey veterinary students. Grants are awarded based on financial need and academic achievement. The NJVF Scholarship Program is funded solely by contributions, a significant portion of which are generated by New Jersey veterinarians.